5 Widely Used ISO Standards Around the Globe

Established in February 1947, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is an independent body focused on creating and implementing a unified set of standards that outlines quality benchmarks and best practices in various industries across the globe.

Here, we take a look at the most commonly followed and adopted ISO standards by organisations and companies worldwide.

ISO 9001 for Quality Management

Part of the ISO 9000 set of standards, the ISO 9001 defines the specific requirements for establishing a Quality Management System. ISO 9000 standards give companies and organizations a clear guideline on how to ensure their products and services meet customer and industry requirements for quality.

However, ISO 9001:2015 is the only standard a company/organization can be certified to. Small, medium and large organizations can benefit from it, as it can make sure their products and services are consistently in line with the highest benchmarks for quality.

ISO 27001 for Information Security & Management

The ISO/IEC 27000 family of standards indicate best practices for keeping information and data systems secure. It is particularly beneficial for protecting confidential and highly restricted data, such as financial information, intellectual property, personnel details, and any information entrusted by third parties.

Like with ISO 9001, it establishes the standards and requirements for setting up a scalable and secure information security management system.

ISO 14001 for Environmental Management

ISO 14000 is a group of standards that establishes the guidelines and practical tools for companies and organizations to manage the environmental impact of their activities and foster sustainable development. Its supporting standards, ISO 14001:2015 and 14006:2011, outline the necessary conditions to setting up environmental systems for organizations to meet their environmental responsibilities.

On the other hand, other standards within ISO 14000 touch on other areas, including communications, audits, life cycle analysis, and even environmental challenges (e.g., climate change).

ISO 31000 for Risk Management

ISO 31000 is a set of standards dedicated to helping companies and organizations manage internal and external risk. It is founded on three core principles: identification, assessment, and prioritization of risks. Through these elements, it aims to equip organizations to monitor and mitigate the chances or impact of risk. Organizations that are ill prepared in managing risk may experience negative consequences in terms of economic performance, environmental preparedness, and safety and security.

ISO 50001 for Energy Management

ISO 50001 sets guidelines for organizations to adopt practices and build an energy management system that will enable them to be more energy efficient, use their resources wisely, and help in mitigating climate change in the long run.

ISO Certifications signify that your business or organization conforms to the highest level of international standards. It reflects your commitment to deliver the best in all applicable areas, whether for your customers, employees, or immediate environment. In getting an ISO certification, make sure you work only with trusted auditors who specialize in the type of certification you’re aiming to secure.

Post your thoughts